Episode 23: Abbas Kiarostami’s Koker Trilogy

Listen and Subscribe:

iTunes / Spotify / Stitcher / Google Play / RSS / Simplecast / Tunein / Android / Email

In this episode, I discuss Abbas Kiarostami’s Koker Trilogy, which consists of the films “Where Is My Friend’s House?,” “Life, and Nothing More,” and “Through the Olive Trees.” They span the years 1987 to 1994. Film scholars have grouped these films together because they take place in the geographical region of Koker, a village in Northern Iran that was devastated by a 1990 earthquake that killed an estimated 50,000 people. In the trilogy, Kiarostami explores many themes, including friendship and the continuation of life, while also pushing the boundaries of cinema by experimentally blurring the line between fiction and reality, documentary and artifice.

Consider making this podcast sustainable by supporting it on Patreon.

Subscribe to the Her Head in Films Newsletter.

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Tumblr.

%d bloggers like this: